Home Page

Meet the Governors

Welcome to the Governors' section.

As per our constitution, there are 12 governors at St Swithun Wells Catholic Primary School, plus 2 associate member. As we are a Voluntary Aided Catholic School we have 7 foundation governors appointed by the Bishop of Portsmouth, who have a specific responsibility to maintain the Catholic ethos of the School. We also have 2 parent governors elected by parents at the school and one local authority governor appointed by Hampshire County Council. The Headteacher and 1 other member of staff are also members of the governing body. The Associate Member of the Governing Body was until recently a Foundation Governor.


Our membership as at September 2017 is as follows:


Foundation Governors 

End date


Liam Brady (Parent) Sept 2021 Strategy and Curriculum and Admissions

Stephen Fenn        (Parent)

10 Nov 2018

Admissions, Environment, Health & Safety

Fr John Nelson 

30 Sep 2019

Religious Education

Moira Moriarty

15 Mar 2020

Early Years, Safeguarding inc. Child Protection

Chris Rayner           (Vice- Chair, Parent)

10 Nov 2018

Communication, PTA, Sports Premium

2 vacancies



Parent Governors



Sharon Gilpin

22 Jun 2019 

Training liaison, Personnel

Mike Prachar    

resigned Oct 2017       

SEN, Pupil Premium, Curriculum & Standards

LA Governor



Justin Harris         (Chair, Parent)

2 Sep 2018

Finance, TAZ     

Staff Governors



Ursula Clark        (Head Teacher)

1 Jan 2005-


Claire Watson

 1 Oct 2016        


Associate Member



Neil Hendricks                  



Sherlyn Lown (Deputy Headteacher) 2016-  
Anna McCormack 2017 Strategy and Curriculum


The governing body has a range of duties and powers and provide strategic leadership with a view to promoting high standards of educational achievement. Our responsibilities include, but are not limited to:

  • Ensuring that the school provides a Catholic, Christian education in which children can grow in knowledge, skills, attitudes and values.
  • Setting targets for pupil achievement.
  • Managing the School’s finances.
  • Making sure the curriculum is balanced and appropriate to the needs of the pupils.
  • Taking general responsibility for the conduct of the school, including discipline and attendance.
  • Appointing staff and reviewing staff performance.
  • Set and agree the Admissions Policy on an annual basis and maintain an overview of admissions.
  • Contribute to the goals and strategy of the school development and improvement plan.


The Governors are not involved in the day to day management of the school. This is the responsibility of the Headteacher and senior leadership team.  

Each Governor is expected to contribute fully to the work of the Governing Body and attend Board Meetings, which are held twice a term, and one or more of the Committees or Working Parties, which oversee the detail of our work.

Committees will have a constitution, a programme of meetings, with an agenda and must be minuted and quorate.

Working parties are not scheduled but dates should be circulated to all as far in advance as possible, minimum number of 2 to be quorate, but encouraged to invite additional attendees who can contribute to the meeting, notes of the meeting should be distributed to all.


 The following Committees and Working Parties are currently in place:


Committees' and Working Parties' Remit 2017-2018

Admissions Committee:

The committee is responsible for all aspects of Pupil Admissions

including preparing the Admissions Policy on an annual basis to

be approved by the full Governing Body.It is also involved in

preparing documentation for any appeals

Ursula Clark

Stephen Fenn (Chair),

Sharon Gilpin,

Moira Moriarty




Pay Committee (HTPM):

This committee is responsible for the implementation of the

Pay Policy, including agreeing pay awards, having regard to

national policy, current legislation, local authority and Diocesan

guidelines.  It also develops, reviews and overseas the implementation

of the Governing Body's personnel policies and keeps up to

date with new legislation, advising the Governing Body of relevant developments.

The committee completes the annual review of the

Headteacher’s performance and agrees targets with her.

Justin Harris,

Neil Hendrick,

Anna McCormack, 

Moira Moriarty.


External Advisor

None of the above

may sit on pay appeals

nor the priest, chair, vice chair or staff governors






Strategy & Curriculum Committee:  

This committee is responsible for the strategic direction of the

school and ensures accountability of all staff through monitoring and

evaluation of pupil outcomes and the quality of teaching and

learning. It keeps up to date with strategies used by the school

to maintain and improve achievements and advises the governing

body of the impact of these.

It is also responsible for monitoring and interpreting the

data regarding pupils’ progress and attainment.

It ensures that religious education is provided in accordance

with the teachings, doctrines and particular norms of the Catholic

Church. it works with senior leaders to prepare for external inspections


Ursula Clark,

Justin Harris,

Sherlyn Lown.

Anna McCormack (Chair),

Moira Moriarty

Fr. John Nelson,

Liam Brady











Finance Committee:

This working party works closely with the Headteacher to manage

the school budget. It completes Financial returns and ensures the

school is providing value for money.



Ursula Clark

Sharon Gilpin,

Justin Harris (Chair),

Neil Hendricks,

Chris Rayner.

Health & Safety & Environment Working Party:

 This working party works with the site manager in regard to matters

concerning the staff, the school site and buildings, including

development and health and safety issues.

Stephen Fenn (Lead),

Chris Rayner,

Claire Watson



Personnel working party:

This working party works with the Headteacher to recruit and

appoint staff. They also discuss personnel issues.



Ursula Clark (HT),

Anna McCormack, 

Sharon Gilpin,

Justin Harris,

Fr. John Nelson.